菜单菜单

全球社会工作教育和培训标准

全球社会工作教育和培训标准

全球最低资格标准委员会是国际社会工作学校协会(IASSW)和国际社会工作者联合会(IFSW)在7月2000加拿大蒙特利尔举行的IASSW / IFSW联合会议上的联合倡议。

请点击此处查看: 社会工作专业教育和培训的全球标准

IASSW和IFSW于10月2004在澳大利亚阿德莱德召开的大会上通过了全球社会工作教育和培训标准的最终版本。

全球标准委员会主席Vishanthie Sewpaul写道:

我们感谢国际同事的积极响应和参与,使社会工作教育和培训的全球标准成为可能。 我们特别感谢所有将文档翻译成多种语言的同事。 全球标准的构想在我进入之前就已经构想出来了,因为Lena Dominelli是当时2000从1月2001担任全球资格标准委员会主席,当时我被任命为主席。 。 在第一次听到有关制定社会工作教育和培训全球标准的可能性时,我对我认为是一个过于冒昧和雄心勃勃的项目感到震惊。 我立即质疑它有可能加强西方帝国主义和霸权话语,并表达了我对进行这样一个过程的保留意见。 有人告诉我,当我意识到这种倡议的复杂性时,我很适合用它所需的各种敏感性来接近它。

我通过与全球标准委员会成员以及尽可能多的全球同事开始对话进入了这个领域。 我最初问同事他们对制定全球标准的想法是什么,可能是它的潜在优点和缺点,这些文件的内容应该构成什么。 令我惊讶的是,我发现大多数同事都赞成制定全球标准。 我认为,他们的建议是“一项艰巨的任务”,这样一份详细说明某些普遍性的文件足够灵活,适用于任何背景,并允许对当地具体的社会工作教育和实践进行解释。 根据委员会及其同事的意见,对现有国家和地区标准的审查以及对文献的审查,获得了继续这一倡议的授权,并于1月2002制作了初稿。 各种协商程序,所有这些都在全球标准文件中有详细说明,后来的几次审查最终导致了INW大会和IFSW于10月在阿德莱德通过的文件2004,附带条件是社会教育者的关注点是纳入文件,社会教育者提供语言来接受他们的关注。 当社会教育者提供这样一种语言时,他们坚持所有对“社会工作”的提及应该被理解为“社会工作专业”。因此,最终文件指的是:“社会工作专业教育和培训的全球标准。 ”

尽管代表过程中存在固有缺陷,但该文件尽可能通过一个包容性的过程开发,确实代表了IASSW和IFSW成员的观点。 尽管IASSW和IFSW领导层最初构想了全球标准的愿景,但其实质内容是由广泛的选区决定的。 该文件并非旨在成为有限的,静态的最终产品,并且为了加深我们对社会公正,人权,包容性,国际对话和对服务使用者的响应的承诺,我们必须始终质疑我们正在做的事情和价值。我们是如何做到的。 因此,呼吁全球各地的同事批判性地参与该文件,评估其与特定历史,社会经济,政治和文化背景的相关性,并参与有关社会工作教育和实践的跨国界和跨地区对话。 。 从与其相关的出版物数量可以看出,全球标准引发了大量争论。 例如,参见社会工作教育全球标准的特别主题问题,第23卷,第5号,10月2004和国际社会福利期刊,Volume14,第3号,7月2005。 有趣的辩论仍在继续。 例如,我最近被要求回复两位英国同事为国际社会福利期刊撰写的关于社会工作的国际定义和全球标准对中国背景的适用性的文章。

社会对话

当前的问题
社交对话19
卷。 19 - 可能是2018
过去的问题
可在这里

社会对话杂志

社交对话杂志广告选项

社会联系

网站语言

News and Updates

Global Standards for Social Work Education and Training

The Global Minimum Qualifying Standards Committee was set up as a joint initiative of the International Association of Schools of Social Work (IASSW) and the International Federation of Social Workers (IFSW) at the joint IASSW/IFSW Conference in Montreal, Canada in July 2000.

Please click here to view the latest Global Standards for Social Work Education and Training document

The final version of the Global Standards for Social Work Education and Training was adopted by IASSW and IFSW at their General Assemblies in Adelaide, Australia in October 2004.


Vishanthie Sewpaul who was Chair of the Global Standards Committee writes:

We are indebted to our international colleagues for their responsiveness and engagement in making the Global Standards for Social Work Education and Training possible. We are particularly indebted to all those colleagues who translated the document into several languages. The idea of Global Standards was conceived well before my entry into it through the visionary leadership of persons such as Lena Dominelli who was Chair of what was then called the Global Qualifying Standards Committee from January 2000 until January 2001, when I was appointed as the chair. On first hearing about the possibility of formulating global standards for social work education and training I was appalled by what I thought to be a far too presumptuous and ambitious project. I immediately questioned its potential to reinforce Western imperialism and hegemonic discourses and expressed my reservation about getting engaged in such as process. I was told that as I was aware of the complexities of such an initiative I would be well suited to approach it with the kinds of sensitivities that was required.

I entered the terrain by beginning dialogue with members of the Global Standards Committee and with as many colleagues across the world as possible. I initially asked colleagues what they thought about the idea of developing global standards, what might be its potential advantages and disadvantages, what should constitute the contents of such a document, should it materialize. To my surprise, I found that the majority of colleagues were in favour of developing global standards. Their recommendation, I thought, was ‘a tall order’ that such a document that details certain universals be sufficiently flexible to be applicable to any context and allow for interpretations of locally specific social work education and practice. Having obtained the mandate to continue with such an initiative, on the input of the Committee and colleagues, a review of available national and regional standards and a review of literature a first draft was produced in January 2002. Various consultative processes, all of which are detailed in the Global Standards document, and several reviews later culminated in the document that was adopted at the General Assemblies of IASSW and IFSW in Adelaide in October 2004, with the proviso that the concerns of social pedagogues be incorporated into in the document, with the social pedagogues providing the language to embrace their concerns. When the social pedagogues provided such a language they insisted that all reference to “social work” should read as the “social work profession.” Thus, the final document refers to: “Global Standards for the Education and Training of the Social Work Profession.”

Despite the flaws inherent in the process of representation the document, which has been developed through an inclusive a process as possible, does represent, to the best of our ability, the views of IASSW and IFSW membership. While the vision of global standards was initially conceived by IASSW and IFSW leadership, its substance was determined by a broad constituency. The document is not intended to be a finite, static end product and in the interests of deepening our commitment to social justice, human rights, inclusivity, international dialogue and responsiveness to service users we have to consistently question the value of what we are doing and how we are doing it. Thus, there is a call for our colleagues across the globe to critically engage with the document, assess its relevance for their particular historical, socio-economic, political and cultural contexts and engage in cross national and cross regional dialogue about social work education and practice. The Global Standards have stimulated a great deal of debate as seen in the number of publications related to it. See for example, the special themed issue on Global Standards in Social Work Education, Volume 23, No. 5, October 2004 and the International Journal of Social Welfare, Volume14, No. 3, July 2005. Interesting debates continue. For example, I was recently asked to write a response to a paper written by two UK colleagues for the International Journal of Social Welfare regarding the applicability of the international definition of social work and the global standards to the Chinese context.