菜单菜单

IASSW - 简史

国际社会工作学校协会:简史

建国和早年

国际社会工作学校协会(IASSW)是社会工作和教育工作者学校的全球组织。 在近90年代,它代表了社会工作教育的利益和全球职业的价值观。 IASSW是在第一届巴黎1928国际社会工作会议上发起的。 这次具有里程碑意义的聚会,由来自2400国家的42代表参加,也促成了两个伙伴组织的建立,即国际社会福利理事会(ICSW)和国际社会工作者联合会(IFSW)。 在1929,第一任总统Alice Salomon在柏林组织了一次组织会议; 在这次早期会议上,有七个欧洲国家和国际劳工组织(劳工组织)参加了会议。 与会者一致认为,该组织的目的是鼓励交流思想和信息,编写社会工作教育文件,组织国际会议和研讨会。 这些仍然是其他主要目的。

领导小组很快扩大到包括北美人; 来自46国家的10学校同意成为创始成员。 通过1939,75国家/地区有18成员。 1930期间的成就是参加了两次国际会议(法兰克福的1932和伦敦的1936)以及与国际劳工组织的重要合作,以建立社会工作教育的文献中心。

战争年代和战后复苏

第二次世界大战严重打断了进展。 在IASSW领导层一再拒绝要求Alice Salomon辞职的部分犹太人遗产(以及毫无疑问,她倡导的和平主义和性别平等)之后,德国的会员学校退出了。 爆发战争取消了1940会议的计划,并扰乱了大多数国际通信。 仍然是总统的所罗门被驱逐出德国并成为美国的流亡者。 欧洲许多学校被摧毁,重建时期占据了新西兰人民解放军后期的社会工作者。

通过1946,协会秘书开始联系前领导人以振兴该组织。 一项重大成就是在新成立的联合国中与经社理事会在新西兰国家联盟中作为非政府组织获得咨商地位。 到目前为止,IASSW仍保持其咨询地位,并且是最早获得认证的非政府组织之一。 在美国1947举行了一次温和的聚会之后,第一次真正的战后会议在巴黎1948举行,第二任总统,比利时的Rene Sand。

一个日益全球化的组织

在1950,60和70中,IASSW超越了其欧洲和北美的根源。 1956董事会成员包括来自澳大利亚,危地马拉,印度和日本的成员。 在1966,46国家有成员学校,世界会议在亚洲和拉丁美洲举行。 非洲的第一次会议在1974的内罗毕举行。 随着新独立国家的增长,人们认识到社会工作在非洲,亚洲和加勒比地区的发展和启动新的社会工作培训方案中的作用。 1970s的一个亮点是与计划生育相关的大型教育项目涉及的不仅仅是20国家。

全球扩张的举措仍在继续。 冷战结束后,东欧和俄罗斯出现了新的成员学校,在许多情况下,由IASSW通过培训研讨会提供帮助。 随后在中国重建社会工作教育; 中国学校现在是最大的成员组之一。 这些连续的发展强调了社会工作教育在解决所有国家面临的社会问题和国际合作的持久价值方面的重要性。

政策和计划

IASSW与IFSW合作,通过了修订后的社会工作全球定义,社会工作道德原则宣言和社会工作专业教育和培训全球标准。 在2012,IFSW和ICSW,IASSW致力于社会工作和社会发展全球议程,这是一份关于全球和地方政策优先事项和行动议程的声明。 本文件指导协会代表在纽约和日内瓦与联合国的工作。

IASSW通过一系列计划履行了其教育使命。 自1950以来,定期举办两年一次的会议,分享新的研究和实践。 共同发起的期刊, 国际社会工作, (由Sage出版,现在是60th 年)传播全球研究; 偶尔的书籍扩展了社会工作教育的知识。 在许多地方举办了研讨会,以协助各国发展或加强社会工作教育。 IASSW特别活跃于中国的学校。 小额赠款计划促进了全世界社会工作教育和研究的创新和协作。 申请人必须包括来自多个国家的学校才能处理共同的问题。

宣传倡导

IASSW致力于倡导人权,公平,多元化和包容性。 倡导的主要工具是联合国总部的代表团队,自1947以来一直参加联合国和非政府组织的会议。 IASSW还在日内瓦的联合国代表。 该协会的人权委员会将宣传与人权教育结合起来。 在国际机构中代表社会工作教育,以及促进优质教育和国际合作是IASSW的持久目标。

注意:

有关更多信息,请访问网站www.iassw-aiets.org

IASSW的档案在美国明尼阿波利斯明尼苏达大学社会福利历史档案馆举行。

由Lynne Healy编写

IASSW历史

IASSW:IASSW总裁名单

Younghusband讲师

社会对话

当前的问题
社交对话19
卷。 20 - 三月2019
过去的问题
可在这里

社会对话杂志

社交对话杂志广告选项

社会联系

网站语言

IASSW — A Brief History

The International Association of Schools of Social Work: A Brief History

Founding and the Early Years

The International Association of Schools of Social Work (IASSW) is the worldwide organization of schools of social work and educators. It has represented the interests of social work education and the values of the profession globally for nearly 90 years. IASSW was initiated at the first International Conference of Social Work, held in Paris in 1928. This landmark gathering, attended by over 2400 delegates from 42 countries, also resulted in the establishment of two partner organizations, the International Council on Social Welfare (ICSW) and the International Federation of Social Workers (IFSW). In 1929, the first president, Alice Salomon, led an organizational meeting in Berlin; at this early meeting, seven European countries along with the International Labour Organization (ILO) were represented. Participants agreed that the organization’s purpose was to encourage the exchange of ideas and information, documentation of social work education, and organization of international conferences and seminars. These remain key purposes along with others.

The leadership group soon expanded to include North Americans; 46 schools from 10 countries agreed to be founding members. By 1939, there were 75 members in 18 countries. Accomplishments during the 1930s were participation in two international congresses (1932 in Frankfurt and 1936 in London) and an important collaboration with the ILO to establish a documentation center on social work education.

The War Years and Postwar Recovery

Progress was severely interrupted by World War II. Member schools in Germany withdrew after the IASSW leadership repeatedly rejected calls for the resignation of Alice Salomon over her partly Jewish heritage (and, no doubt, over her advocacy for pacifism and gender equality). The outbreak of war cancelled plans for a 1940 conference and disrupted most international communications. Salomon, still President, was expelled from Germany and became an exile in the United States. Many schools in Europe were destroyed, and a rebuilding period occupied social workers in the late 1940s.

By 1946, the association secretary began to reach out to former leaders to revive the organization. A major accomplishment was the granting of consultative status as an NGO with ECOSOC in 1947 in the newly established United Nations. To this day, IASSW retains its consultative status and is distinguished to be among the very first NGOs to be certified. After a modest gathering in 1948 in the U.S., the first true postwar conference was held in Paris in 1950 under second president, Rene Sand of Belgium.

An Increasingly Global Organization

In the 1950s, 60s, and 70s, IASSW moved beyond its European and North American roots. The 1956 Board included members from Australia, Guatemala, India and Japan. By 1966, there were member schools in 46 countries and World Conferences had been held in Asia and Latin America. The first conference in Africa was held in Nairobi in 1974. With the growth in newly independent nations came recognition of the role of social work in development and initiation of new social work training programs in Africa, Asia and the Caribbean. A highlight in the 1970s was a large-scale educational project linked to family planning that involved more than 20 countries.

The move to expand around the globe has continued. Following the end of the Cold War, new member schools emerged in Eastern Europe and Russia, in many cases assisted by IASSW through training seminars. This was followed by the re-establishment of social work education in China; Chinese schools now make up one of the largest member groups. These successive developments underscore the relevance of social work education in addressing social issues faced by all countries and the enduring value of international collaboration.

Policies and Programmes

The IASSW in collaboration with IFSW has adopted a revised Global Definition of Social Work, a Declaration of Ethical Principles for Social Work and Global Standards for Education and Training of the Social Work Profession. In 2012, with both IFSW and ICSW, the IASSW committed to the Global Agenda for Social Work and Social Development, a statement of policy priorities and agenda for action globally and locally. This document guides the work of the association’s representatives with the United Nations in New York and Geneva.

IASSW has fulfilled its educational mission through a number of programs. A biennial conference to share new research and practice has been held regularly since 1950. The co-sponsored  journal, International Social Work, (published by Sage and now in its 60th year) disseminates global research; occasional books expand knowledge on social work education. Seminars have been held in numerous locations to assist countries in developing or strengthening social work education. IASSW was particularly active in the initiation of schools in China. A program of small grants promotes innovation and collaboration in social work education and research across the world. Applicants must include schools from several countries to work on a common issue.

Advocacy

The IASSW is committed to advocacy for human rights, equity, diversity and inclusion. A main vehicle for advocacy is the team of representatives at United Nations headquarters that has consistently participated in UN and NGO meetings since 1947. IASSW is also represented at the UN in Geneva. The Association’s Human Rights Committee combines advocacy with education for human rights. Representation of social work education in international bodies, along with promotion of quality education and international collaboration are the enduring goals of the IASSW.

NOTE:

For more information, visit the website at www.iassw-aiets.org

The archives of the IASSW are held at the Social Welfare History Archive at the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis in the U.S.A.

Prepared by Lynne Healy

 

IASSW History

IASSW: A list of IASSW Presidents

Younghusband lecturers