志愿服务和社会工作:与联合国印度志愿人员一起在线进行COVID19竞选的经验

德里大学社会工作系P​​iyush Poddar和Ayush Poddar。 电子邮件- poddar306@gmail.com

 

  1. 志愿活动是社会工作形成的基础

社会工作起源于一项自愿活动,从Allice Cheyney对它的定义中推论得出:“社会工作包括所有自愿的,为满足与社会关系有关的需求而扩展福利的尝试”(Cheyney 1926,第24页)。 在印度,社会工作作为一种帮助性职业的发展可以追溯到19世纪XNUMX年代的社会宗教运动。th 在这个世纪,组织和改革者聘用了志愿者来传播现代思想并改变普通民众的思维方式。 慈善组织协会于1869年在英国成立,1877年在美国成立,以志愿者为“友好来访者”来确定客户的需求,进行记录,给予救济并进行注册。

  1. 社会工作的专业化

在19年底th 和20开始th 正如弗里德兰德(Friedlander)所断言的那样,本世纪的自愿慈善事业已转变为专业和科学的社会工作:“基于人际关系中科学知识和技能的专业服务,可帮助个人(无论是个人还是群体)获得社会和个人的满意度和独立性”(Friedlander 1955年,第10页)。 尽管社会工作已经正规化和专业化,但是在危机期间,志愿者和专业社会工作者的相互合作以及他们工作的协调是必要的,正如我在下面所反映的。

  1. 我在UNV印度在线自愿参与COVID-19运动的经验

在Covid-19下,在线志愿服务已经形成。 它快速,简单,最重要的是有效。 联合国志愿人员[1] COVID-19运动是基于任务的运动,旨在建立一个积极的V-Force社区[2] 对抗COVID-19的志愿者。

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

第一项任务,于4月XNUMX日分配th,要求志愿者传播有关COVID-19大流行的经过验证的信息。 随后分配了更多的任务,涉及心理健康,残疾人,家庭暴力和老年人。 除了这些任务,我们还通过网络研讨会分享了知识,对社会分配的现有性别角色提出了质疑。 志愿者计划中最具创新性的部分是问责机制,该机制要求志愿者在线提交已完成的任务。 对这些活动的验证将使每位志愿者获得认可证书。 多年的志愿服务经验使我们了解到,志愿服务更多地是我们愿意从中获得多少,而更多地是它为我们提供了什么。

參考資料

  1. 切尼(A)(1926), 社会工作的性质和范围, 纽约,美国社会工作者协会。
  2. 弗里德兰德,W(1951), 社会工作的概念和方法 ,美国,Prentice Hall

[1] 联合国志愿人员方案通过全球志愿服务为和平与发展作出贡献。 它由开发计划署管理。

[2] V-Force是一个平台,可让社区参与到各个年龄段,背景和技能的人们手中,并将其纳入一系列活动中。

Volunteering and social work: Experience of volunteering online with United Nations Volunteers India for COVID19 campaign

Piyush Poddar and Ayush Poddar, Department of social work, University of Delhi. Email- [email protected]

 

  1. Volunteering as a basis for the formation of social work

Social work originated as a voluntary activity, as inferred from Allice Cheyney’s definition of it “Social work includes all the voluntary attempts to extend benefits in response to the needs which are concerned with social relationships” (Cheyney 1926, p 24). The evolution of social work as a helping profession in India can be traced back to the socio-religious movements of the 19th century where organizations and reformers employed volunteers to spread modern ideas and change the general population’s mind-set. The Charity Organisation Society, established in 1869 in UK and in 1877 in USA, used volunteers as “Friendly Visitors” to determine a client’s needs, do recording, give relief and undertake registrations.

  1. Professionalization of social work

At the end of 19th and beginning of 20th century voluntary philanthropy transitioned to professional and scientific social work, as asserted by Friedlander: “A professional service based on scientific knowledge and skill in human relations, which assists individuals, alone or in groups, to obtain social and personal satisfaction and independence” (Friedlander 1955, p 10). In spite of the formalisation and professionalization of social work, the mutual cooperation of volunteers and professional social workers and harmonization of their work is necessary during crises, as I reflect below.

  1. My experience of volunteering online with UNV India for the COVID-19 campaign

Online volunteering has crystallised under Covid-19. It is fast, easy and most of all, effective. The UNV[1] COVID-19 campaign is a task based campaign aimed at building a positive community of V-Force[2] volunteers in the fight against COVID-19.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The first task, assigned on April 4th, asked volunteers to spread verified information on the COVID-19 pandemic. Subsequently more tasks were assigned on mental health, person with disability, domestic violence and older people. Apart from these tasks, we questioned existing gender based roles assigned by society, with knowledge shared through webinars. The most innovative part of the volunteering program was the accountability mechanism which required volunteers to submit completed tasks online. Verification of these activities entitled each volunteer to a certificate of recognition. Over years of volunteering experience we have learnt that volunteering is more about how much we are willing to gain from it and less about what it offers to us.

References

  1. Cheyney, A (1926), the nature and scope of social work, New York, The American Association of Social Workers.
  2. Friedlander ,W (1951), concepts and method of social work , USA, Prentice Hall

[1] United Nations Volunteers programme contributes to peace and development through volunteerism worldwide. It is administered by UNDP.

[2] V-Force is a platform for community engagements reaching out to people of all ages, backgrounds and skills and integrating them into a range of activities.