Nominations are invited for the Prestigious Katherine A. Kendall Memorial Award for distinguished contribution to the development of social work education internationally.  Nominees can come from any region of the world and IASSW membership is not required.  Most importantly, the nominee’s biography must match the required criteria as indicated in this document. 

The award will be presented to the recipient during the World Conference titled “Respecting Diversity through Joint Social Action” from 4th to 7th April 2024.

The Katherine A. Kendall Memorial Award

The Katherine A. Kendall Memorial Award was introduced in 1992 to honour the late IASSW Honorary President, Dr. Katherine A. Kendall. She made a significant contribution to the organization over the years. She served as voluntary secretary from 1954 to 1971 and as Secretary-General of IASSW from 1971 to 1978. For more than five decades, Dr. Kendall played an active role in IASSW and remained an active board member after retirement. With a strong social justice disposition, Dr. Kendall played a significant role in promoting quality social work education and expanding social work internationally. She provided strong leadership in the formation of regional organisations within IASSW. While she worked tirelessly to strengthen the international footprint of social work, she also supported the need for indigenous curriculum development and the diversity of local contexts. For more details, please see

The intention of the award, which is made biennially, is to acknowledge significant contributions to the development of social work education at the international level.

An international committee comprising of the Regional Vice-Presidents and a Chair of the Committee appointed by the IASSW President and representatives from the CSWE Kendall Institute reviews nominees for the award and makes recommendations to the Board of Directors, which makes the final decision.

Brief Summary of the Nomination Process:

Each nomination must be sent to the chair of the Committee and should be accompanied by the following supporting materials:

  • The CV of the nominee (this should provide evidence of the impact of the nominee’s work on social work education at the educational level and how this was achieved)
  • A letter demonstrating how the candidate meets the criteria for the award.
  • The names and addresses (including email, fax, and telephone number) of two persons who would act as referees for the nominee)

Nominations should be submitted to the chair of the Committee by 30th September 2023 via  and copied to IASSW secretary Barbara Shank at

Criteria for the Katherine A. Kendall Award:

The award was established to recognize distinguished international contributions to social work education. The nominee should therefore meet as many of the following criteria as possible:

  • Involved in educational activities to promote equality and social justice in all societies.
  • Conducted research and published professional literature of interest and value to global social work educators.
  • Developed curricula that have advanced social work education worldwide.
  • Involved in or supported innovative educational approaches leading to improvement of the quality of social services, approaches that are usable in different countries as models in teaching social work practice.
  • Promoted social work education, nationally and regionally, and successful social welfare and social development practice strategies.
  • Involved in the worldwide interpretation of professional education for social work as essential for preparation of well-qualified social work personnel.
  • Self-nominations for the Katherine Kendall Award will not be considered.
  • Individuals who are previous award winners (Eileen Younghusband Award or Katherine Kendall Award) will not be considered for a second award.

Members of the Katherine A. Kendall Memorial Award Committee are as follows:

  1. Annaline Keet – South Africa – Committee Chair
  2. Christos Panagiotopoulos- Europe Region
  3. Kgomotso Jongman – Africa Region
  4. Sonia Brito Rodríguez – Latin America Region
  5. David Rose – Asia Pacific Region
  6. Shirley Gatanio Gabel – Member of the KAKI Institute Board
  7. Peter Szto – Member of the KAKI Institute Board