

ELECTIONS 2016: INFORMATION ABOUT VOTING

Dear IASSW members,

We invite you to participate in the IASSW elections to be held between in April-June, with results announced at the General Assembly in Seoul, South Korea

There is one position open for the IASSW President, one position of the IASSW Secretary and two positions for Member at Large on the Board of Directors. *The candidates put forth by the Nominating Committee are included in this announcement.*

There are 2 candidates for the position of the IASSW President:

Annamaria Campanini
Vimla Nadkarni

There are 2 candidates for the position of the IASSW Secretary:

Carolina Muñoz
Barbara W. Shank

There are 5 candidates for the two positions of Member at Large:

Faizal Azaiza
Nada Eltaiba
Bala Nikku

- 4. Ute Straub
- 5. Lars Uggerhøj

Brief information about the candidates is provided in the attached pages. Full information has been posted on the IASSW web-site (<u>http://www.iassw-aiets.org/elections-2016</u>) in IASSW official languages – Chinese, English, French, Japanese, and Spanish.

The on-line voting is available here: <u>http://goo.gl/forms/yyHU39xc2B</u>

Please, consider before voting:

- We kindly ask you to use your IASSW code for voting. This code was included in the membership welcoming letter sent from the IASSW President's Office (if you have problems with this, write to Rashmi Pandey <u>rashmi@iassw-aiets.org</u>).
- Only those members who had paid membership dues for 2016 are eligible to vote.
- Information for school members of the IASSW: **one school has one vote** in these elections, so we kindly ask an authorized person to use our voting system once.
- Information for individual members of the IASSW: all individual members have the right to vote, however the vote of an individual member is counted as 1/10 that of a school member.
- Information for affiliated members of the IASSW: according to IASSW Bylaws an affiliated member has no voting rights.

On-line voting for the 2016 election will be available **in April-June 2016**. The deadline for on-line voting is 17th June 2016.

Ballots may be submitted in person on the first full day of the Seoul Congress by 16:00 (4:00pm) at the IASSW booth.

2016 IASSW Election Candidates, Proposers and Seconders Institution and Country Affiliations

President

(1)

CANDIDATE: ANNAMARIA CAMPANINI

University of Milano Bicocca Italy Proposer: Julia Watkins, USA

Seconder: Prof. Xu, East China University, China.

(2)

CANDIDATE: VIMLA NADKARNI Tata Institute of Social Sciences (Rtd) India Proposer: Lena Dominelli, Durham University, UK

Seconder: Darla Spence Coffey, Council on Social Work Education, USA

<u>Secretary</u>

(1)

CANDIDATE: CAROLINA MUNOZ

Universidad Catolica De Chile Chile

Proposer: Vishantie Sewpaul, University of Kwazulu-Natal, Durban, South Africa Seconder: Darla Spence Coffey, Council on Social Work Education, USA

(2)

CANDIDATE:	BARBARA SHANK
	University of St. Thomas
	USA

Proposer: TAN Ngoh Tiong, SIM University, Singapore Seconder: Goutham Menon, University of Nevada, Reno, USA

Members at large

(1)

CANDIDATE: FAIZAL AZAIZA University of Haifa Israel Proposer: Mihi Cohen, University of Haifa, Israel Seconder: Julia Mirsky, Ben Gurion University of Neger, Israel

CANDIDATE: NADA ELTAIBA Qatar University, Qatar University of Western Australia, Australia Proposer: Lena Dominelli, Durham University, UK Seconder: Alean Al-Krenawi, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel

(3)

CANDIDATE: BALA NIKKU

University Sains Malaysia Malaysia Proposer: Lena Dominelli, Durham University, UK Seconder: Pradipta Kadambari, Nepal School of Social Work, Nepal

(4)

CANDIDATE: UTE STRAUB

Frankfurt University of Applied Sciences, German Proposer: Brian Littlechild, University of Hertfordshire, UK Seconder: Wassie Kebede, University of Ababa, Ethiopia.

(5)

CANDIDATE: LARS UGGERHØJ Ålborg University Denmark

Proposer: Anna Metteri, University of Tampere, Finland, Seconder: Finn Laursen, Aalborg University, Denmark

(2)