

International Association of Schools of Social Work Association Internationale des Ecoles de Travail Social Association International de Escuelas de Trabajo Social 国际社会工作教育联盟 国際ソーシャルワーク学校連盟

International Association of Schools of Social Work Minutes of the General Assembly Meeting

 Date:
 Tuesday, June 28, 2016

 Time:
 4.00 to 7.00 PM

Venue: COEX convention and exhibition center in Seoul, South Korea

Presiding Officer (Chairperson): Mark Henrickson

The Presiding Officer called the meeting to order at 4:00 pm and welcomed all members of IASSW to the biennial meeting of the General Assembly. He announced the existence of a Quorum for conducting the business of the IASSW.

He stated "I am honored to sit at this position on a temporary basis at the request of Vimla Nadkarni, President IASSW, who could not be with us for this meeting due to a medical emergency. My role will be chairing today's General Assembly". President Nadkarni had consulted with officer bearers about her unavailability at Seoul . As the Secretary was also not attending the meeting, the treasurer, Mark Henrickson, was designated to preside over the General Assembly.

1. Approval of the agenda- Members adopted the agenda as presented voted by the Assembly.

2. Matters arising- No issues were discussed.

3. Approval of GA minutes (Melbourne, 2014)

Moved, seconded, and approved as presented.

4. President's Report

The Chairperson informed the group that President's Report was discussed in the IASSW board meeting and approved by the board. It will be uploaded to the website soon for member reference.

5. Secretary's Report

In the absence of the Secretary, Tetyana Semigina, the presentation prepared by Dr. Semigina, was presented by Bala Raju, the Assistant Secretary. Tetyana mentioned her role in her



presentation as :

- Major revision of the IASSW Manual of Policies and Procedures; keeping it updated (2014-2016)
- Supervision of IASSW elections, including creation and management of the on-line voting system (2014-2016)
- Supervision of the membership masterlist (2014-2016)
- Arrangement of nomination and voting for Eileen Younghousband Award (2015)
- On-line survey of IASSW members on satisfaction with the association and their vision of further development (2015)
- Certification of membership for elections, project application etc.
- Communication with members etc.

She also raised following challenges:

- How to sustain and enhance membership?
- How to work out the problem of irregular payment of membership dues?
- How to improve internal and external communication?

6. Treasurer's report

Mark Henrickson gave the Treasurer's report and during his presentation, Angie Yuen chaired the meeting.

Mark provided a copy of the board-approved financial statement for CY2015 and discussed the financial statement, the outcome of the General Audit in 2014, the new ethical investment policy and Treasure's' role involved in membership, especially invoicing.

7. Regional reports

The Chairperson informed the Assembly that regional reports will be uploaded to the IASSW website. Members gave approval for the same.

8. Committee reports

The Chairperson informed the Assembly that committee reports will be uploaded to the IASSW website. Members gave approval for the same.

9. Announcement of election results

Chair of Nominating Committee - Helle Strauss; announced the election results. Tellers for the vote counting were Helle Strauss and Antoinette Lombard.

Candidates for President: Annamaria Campanini and Vimla Nadkarni.



International Association of Schools of Social Work Association Internationale des Ecoles de Travail Social Association International de Escuelas de Trabajo Social 国际社会工作教育联盟 国際ソーシャルワーク学校連盟

Annamaria Campanini was elected to a 4 year term as President. Candidates for Secretary: Barbara Shank and Carolina Munoz. Barbara Shank was elected to a 4 year term as Secretary.

There were 4 candidates for the two (2) positions of Member at Large, Board of Directors: Bala Raju Nikku, Faizal Azaiza, Nada Eltaiba, and Lars Uggerhøj Ute Straub.

Faizal Azaiza and Ute Straub were elected as Members at Large, each to serve a 4 year term. The Assembly expressed its congratulations.

Mark Henrickson expressed appreciation for the work of the outgoing officers on behalf of the IASSW Board of Directors and welcomed the new officers to the Board.

Formation of the next Nominating Committee

Helle Strauss, Chair of Nominating Committee, presented the names of the new Nominating Committee as follows:

Appointment of a new Nominating Committee:

Chair: Tetyana Semigina;

Africa Region: JenisticTwikirize, Uganda

Asia Region: Angie Yuen, Hong Kong and Mie Ohwa, Japan

North America region: Shirley Gatenio Gabel, Fordham University, USA

East Europe: Tetyana Semigina (Chair), Ukraine, South America: Nilsa Burgos,

Europe: Janet Williams, United Kingdom

There were no objections or comments regarding the composition of the Nominating

Committee. The Nominating Committee was accepted as presented.

10. Appreciation

Board members, who have completed their terms, were felicitated with a plaque of

appreciation as follows:

- 1. Antoinette Lombard (chair of the Global Agenda): by Gidraph Wairire
- 2. Wassie Kebede (chair of KKMA): Antoinette Lombard
- 3. Vishanthie Sewpaul (President ASSWA)- Janestic presented and carried
- 4. Bala Raju Nikku (Member at large)- Dixon Sookraj
- 5. Yongxiang Xu (Member at large)- Angie Yuen
- 6. Vimla Nadkarni (President) bv courier
- 7. Tetvana Semigina (Secretary)- by courier
 8. Susan Lawrence- by courier
- 9. Mark Rodgers- Darla presented and carried

Being no further business, the meeting of the IASSW General Assembly was adjourned at 7:00 pm and followed by reception.