Report on activities or IASSW Research Committee between July 2022 and April 2024

Members

The Research Committee is chaired by Minna Zechner from the University of Helsinki, Finland and cochaired by Jennifer Hedges from the University of Manitoba, Canada. The other members are as follows: Darja Zavirsek (University of Ljubljana, Slovenia), Marcus Knutagård (Lund University, Brian Littlechild (University of Hertfordshire, UK), Junko Wake (Tokyo Metropolitan University, Japan), Liu Meng (Zhejiang Normal University, China), Siu-man Ng (University of Hong Kong, China), Komalsingh Rambaree (University of Gävle, Sweden), Christos Panagiotopoulos (University of Nicosia, Cyprus), Suo Deng (Beijing University, China), Thomas McLaughlin (University of New England, USA), Alexandra Mustafa (Federal University of Pernambuco and Iara Nunes, Brazil), Gianinna Muñoz Arce (Universidad de Chile, Chile), John V. Rautenbach (University of Zululand, South Africa), Panagiotis Pentaris (Goldsmiths, University of London, UK), Gary Spolander (Robert Gordon University, UK), Orit Nuttman-Shwartz, (Sapir College, Israel)

Meetings

The committee held six meetings in 2023 and in the beginning of 2024 there has been two meetigs.

Activities

On 11th October 2023 the Committee organized a Webinar titled: 'Including traditionally disempowered groups in research' The recording is available here: <u>https://www.iassw-aiets.org/resource/including-traditionally-disempowered-groups-in-research/</u> The Committee members who took responsibility over the webinar were Brian Littlechild and Thomas McLaughlin.

The committee offered two prices for best abstract submitted by PhD researchers from the countries with lower GDP to the Panama Congress on April 2024. One price was for an abstract from a IASSW member university and consisted of covering the conference fee. Another price was for a PhD researcher from a non-member university and consisted of one year membership fee for IASSW and the conference fee. At the time of writing this report the winners have not yet been reached, so their names and universities are not listed here. The working group on this has been reviewed 58 abstracts and consisted of John Rautenbach, Panagiotis Pentaris, Gary Spolander and Alexandra Mustafa.

Work has been done to update the IASSW Statement on social work research from 2014 presented on the IASSW web pages <u>https://www.iassw-aiets.org/the-iassw-statement-on-social-work-research/</u> The statement has been send to formal round of acceptance parallel to this report. This work has been done especially by John Rautenbach, Panagiotis Pentaris, Minna Zechner and Orit Nuttman-Shwartz.

We have also started the process of archiving the themes/abstract books/programs of IASSW conferences with the help of Linnea Anderson from the University of Minnesota. Jennifer Hedges has been leading this activity which is in the beginning still.

We work in cooperation with the Committee on Human Rights and the chair Janet Walker to publish a human rights-related special issue, possibly based on papers presented in the Panama Congress 2024. in cooperation with the Human Rights Committee John Rautenbach

8th of March 2024 Minna Zechner