菜单菜单

关于人权的概念说明

关于“人权与社会正义委员会”的使命和范围的简要概念说明

Vasilios Ioakimidis

2015年XNUMX月

  1. 作为对人权的坚定承诺的一部分,IASSW几年前成立了一个人权委员会。 委员会前任主席Lynn Healy为突出人权与社会工作教育的相关性做出了重大贡献。 这种方法有助于促进IASSW对人权的承诺,并提供了关于如何将人权作为社会工作教学法的一部分进行操作和利用的切实例子。 在此期间开发了许多非常重要的教材资源,并最终上传到我们的网站上。 这些材料大部分是为IASSW人权委员会在7月2012举行的斯德哥尔摩世界社会工作会议上提出的研讨会开发的。 这包括:
  2. 人权与社会工作简要参考书目
  3. 为XISUMX于7月在斯德哥尔摩举行的IASSW / KAKI人权会前研讨会准备的幻灯片幻灯片演示。

a)人权教学与培训

  1. b) 在香港实施人权条约
  2. c) 保护老年人的权利
  3. 讨论小插曲:人权教学中的挑战

迄今为止,IASSW的人权委员会主要关注社会工作教育。 尽管委员会之前的任务还包括一个竞选维度,但这并没有得到类似的关注。 委员会认为有两个被认为具有潜在竞选主题的发行包括“社会保护底线”和“极端贫困与人权指导原则”。 虽然这些活动虽然在委员会的网站上有所突出,但没有得到跟进,我们的成员如何以及如何与他们互动也是未知的。 因此,需要确定和发展一种更加积极主动的协调,传播和监测活动的方式。

  1. IFSW估计,在1995和2005之间,40社会工作者在言论自由和政治活动被压制的国家被谋杀,监禁或绑架。 轶事证据表明,这个数字要高得多,还包括社会工作教育者和学生。 在过去五年中,国际社会工作界动员起来支持社会工作者,他们的积极工作和对社会正义的声音承诺使他们处于危险之中。 匈牙利社会工作者诺伯特·费伦茨(Norbert Ferencz)因捍卫无家可归者的刑事定罪活动而受到起诉,因此捍卫社会工作价值观和人权的国际主义就是一个值得注意的例子。 Norbert Ferencz因国际动员而获得无罪释放,其中包括全球,区域和地方一级的社会工作组织。 这个例子提供了一个非常有用的模型,说明国际社会工作界(IASSW,IFSW,区域协会等)如何能够有效地动员起来,以捍卫面临侵犯其人权的社会工作学者,从业者和教育者。
  2. 然而,我们需要认识到,影响社会工作者从业者和学者的侵犯人权行为只是吞噬整个社区和国家的广泛,暴力和大规模侵权行为的一部分,社会工作在其中存在和运作。 因此,人权委员会不应忽视影响我们社区的更广泛的结构性和地方性人权违法行为和社会不平等。 它应成为委员会与我们的会员沟通的使命的一部分,与董事会联络并了解协会的战略重点,以确定需要优先考虑的活动。
  3. 影响社区的挑战的更广泛和不对称的特征往往超出了人权话语。 社会工作学术界内部发生了一场非常相关的辩论,强调了人权“工具包”的一些固有局限性,特别是在没有更广泛地关注社会正义的情况下。 虽然这一概念说明并非打算批判性地质疑这些复杂的辩论,但在避免对人权的狭隘解释和采用植根于社会正义传统的更广泛,更普遍和政治相关的方法方面肯定是有价值的。 这可以帮助我们将侵犯人权行为重新定义为社会正义问题,而结构性问题并未引起我们的注意。 正因为这个原因,我建议将“社会正义”的概念纳入这一群体的头衔和使命。 此外,通过纳入以下目标,可以丰富委员会目前的使命:
  4. 鼓励,促进和促进人权和社会正义信息课程的机会。
  5. 监测和记录影响社会工作教育者,从业者和学生的侵犯人权行为。
  6. 根据我们协会的战略重点和我们会员的建议,确定并协调更广泛的活动,请愿,促进社会正义的联盟。

社会对话

当前的问题
社交对话19
卷。 19 - 可能是2018
过去的问题
可在这里

社会对话杂志

社交对话杂志广告选项

社会联系

网站语言

Concept note on Human Rights

Brief Concept Note with regards to the mission and scope of the “Human Rights and Social Justice Committee”

Vasilios Ioakimidis

July 2015

  1. As part of its strong commitment to human rights, IASSW established a human rights committee several years ago. Lynn Healy the previous chair of the committee contributed significantly and proactively toward highlighting the relevance of human rights to social work education. This approach helped furthering IASSW’s commitment to human rights and offered tangible examples of how human rights could be operationalized and utilized as part of social work pedagogy. A number of very important resources for teaching materials were developed during this period and were eventually uploaded onto our website. Much of this material was developed for the workshop presented by the IASSW Human Rights Committee at the world social work conference in Stockholm in July 2012. This included:
  2. A Brief Bibliography on Human Rights and Social Work
  3. Powerpoint slide presentations prepared for the IASSW/KAKI Human Rights Pre-Conference Workshop held in Stockholm in July 2012.

a)Teaching and Training for Human Rights

  1. b) Implementation of Human Rights Treaties in Hong Kong
  2. c) Protecting the Rights of Older Persons
  3. Discussion Vignettes:  Challenges in Teaching Human Rights

IASSW’s human rights committee has so far focused primarily on social work education. Although, the previous mission of the committee also included a campaigning dimension, this did not receive similar attention. A couple of issued that were considered by the committee as potential campaigning themes included the “Social Protection Floor” and “Guiding Principles on Extreme Poverty and Human Rights”. These campaigns, although highlighted in the committee’s website, weren’t followed up and it is unknown how and if our members engaged with them. Therefore, a more proactive way of coordinating, disseminating and monitoring campaigns needs to be identified and developed.

  1. IFSW estimates that between 1995 and 2005 more than 40 social workers were murdered, imprisoned or kidnapped in countries where freedom of speech and political activism are suppressed. Anecdotal evidence suggests that this number is much higher and it also includes social work educators and students. Over the last five years the international social work community mobilized to support social workers whose activist work and vocal commitment to social justice put them at risk. A notable example of internationalism in defense of social work values and human rights was this of Norbert Ferencz, Hungarian Social Worker, who was prosecuted because of his activist work exposing the criminalization of homeless people. Norbert Ferencz was acquitted as a result of the international mobilization, which included social work organisations at a global, regional and local level. This example offers a very useful model of how the international social work community (IASSW, IFSW, regional associations etc) can mobilize affectively in order to defend social work academics, practitioners and educators facing violation of their human rights.
  2. Nevertheless, we need to be appreciative of the fact that human rights violations affecting social worker practitioners and academics is only part of the extensive, violent and large scale violations that engulf whole communities and countries, within which social work exists and operates. Therefore, the human rights committee should not lose sight of the broader structural and endemic human rights’ breaches and social inequalities affecting our communities. It should be part of the committee’s mission to communicate with our membership, liaise with the Board of Directors and appreciate the Association’s strategic priorities in order to identify campaigns that need to be prioritized.
  3. The broader and asymmetric character of challenges affecting communities often goes beyond the human rights discourse. There is a very relevant debate within social work academia highlighting some of the inherent limitations of the human rights “tool-kits”, especially in absence of a broader focus on social justice. Although, it is not the intention of this concept note to critically interrogate these complex debates, there is certainly value in avoiding narrow interpretations of human rights and adopt wider, more universal and politically relevant approaches rooted in the social justice tradition. This could help us reframe human rights violations as social justice issues where structural concerns don’t escape our attention. It is for this reason that I have suggested the inclusion of the concept of “social justice” in the title and mission of this group. Moreover, the current mission of the committee could be enriched through the inclusion of the following objectives:
  4. Encourage, promote and facilitate opportunities for Human Rights and Social Justice informed curricula.
  5. Monitor and record human rights violations affecting social work educators, practitioners and students.
  6. Identify and co-ordinate broader campaigns, petitions, coalitions promoting social justice, in line with the strategic priorities of our Association and the recommendation of our membership.