语言政策

IASSW –对谁有吸引力?

IASSW是一个成员组织,对来自世界各地的所有社会工作教育计划开放。 因此,其目的是实行包容性的语言政策,并避免成为由西方世界成员机构主导的精英组织。 语言政策和实践是决定这是否是全球目标群体的有吸引力组织的重要因素。

即使今天IASSW的大多数成员能够在某种程度上用英语进行交流,目的是继续包括来自其他语言组和非英语国家的更多成员。

至关重要的是,将以语言形式向他们提供将影响成员的IASSW文件; 不仅是“一成不变”,而且所有成员都有一定的机会在发展过程中发挥影响力。

IASSW意识到,人们阅读,聆听和理解英语的能力,演讲和陈述论文以及参加董事会会议和代表大会的讨论存在能力差异。 为了确保进行真正的交流,并确保来自不同文化和语言群体的人们有公平的机会,我们需要以各种方式组织大会和会议,以使同一个人永远不会处于劣等地位。 因此,有时少数民族语言甚至可能成为主导语言。 来自主要语言的人们可能必须意识到,国际交流对我们所有人都是一个挑战。

什么是IASSW语言政策?

IASSW认识到,任何语言之间在价值和重要性上都没有而且应该没有区别,地球上的所有语言都应得到同等对待,而不论用户的数量如何,更不用说《世界人权宣言》和《国际人权宣言》第2条了《公民权利和政治权利公约》。 考虑到(1)社会工作的实质和IASSW的任务是致力于促进社会工作教育,(2)IASSW的历史发展,(3)我们的会员分布以及(4)组织的实用性IASSW于13年2005月11日在华盛顿特区举行的董事会会议上暂时采取了以下语言政策(在2007年XNUMX月XNUMX日在多伦多举行的董事会会议上进行了修订)。

IASSW语言

IASSW有四种官方语言:英语,法语,中文(简体),西班牙语和日语。 这些是IASSW会员学校多数所属的语言。 但是,由于缺乏财务和人力资源,英语是主要语言。

刊物

目的是将所有重要文件翻译成四种官方语言。 以下三个文件: 社会工作道德:原则陈述,社会工作的全球定义和社会工作教育和培训的全球标准现在由Sage出版,是一本英语,西班牙语和法语的综合性书籍。 这是IASSW和IFSW的联合制作。 所有IASSW成员都会收到该出版物的副本。

这三份文件将被翻译成日文并单独出版。 这是与日本社会工作学校协会的一个联合项目。 它将分发给所有日本成员和其他表达兴趣的人。

您的网站

网络应包含四种语言:

  1. 上面提到的三个文件
  2. IASSW的历史和简介
  3. 宣传材料
  4. 宣传材料的标题翻译成尽可能多的语言,并附有四种语言的链接,以获取更多信息
  5. 与语言委员会合作的官员应不断评估应将哪些材料翻译成四种语言

在网站上以尽可能多的语言欢迎翻译这三份文件。 翻译必须具有高质量,无论是专业还是自愿。 保证质量

  1. 专业的社会工作教育者必须证明–阅读并确保翻译的更新
  2. 如果质量保证中隐含着成本,则可以向董事会提交申请
  3. 翻译者和校对员的姓名应出现在文件上

大会

举行大会的区域语言应指导应对其进行翻译的官方语言数量的决定。

全体会议应至少翻译成四种语言,包括上段通过的正式语言。 它们将在某种程度上取决于会议在哪个地区举行,并且必须根据使用特定语言的预期参加人数来确定。 如果注册数量未达到预期数量,则可以取消上述四种语言之一。

如果在计划会议的后期阶段,很明显使用第五语言的参与者达到一定数量,则应将其添加为第五种会议语言。

在大会上,至少有一些论文会议应该是双语的,并且可以翻译成上面第二段中采用的其他一些会议语言。

大会的宣传册应以四种正式语文制作,其他语言版本和网站上提供廉价版本。

应提供并宣布以各种语言组织讲习班/论文报告/兴趣小组/海报的机会。

10-15为同事提供翻译的参与者的注册折扣,这也将为学生负责。

会议场所或资源组应该可以访问,人们可以通过翻译互相支持。

IASSW常务委员会

IASSW理事会设有语言常任委员会。 该委员会的任务是通过语言强调包容性的重要性,并提醒和鼓励IASSW在协会的各个层面上采取其政策。

委员会参与大会的规划并与组织者讨论

  1. 翻译成什么语言和官方语言和区域语言
  2. 应该用各种语言组织什么和多少个研讨会等
  3. 是否可以在主持人的母语和官方语言中提交摘要
  4. 确保这一点 发言人指南,由IASSW委员会采用,将发送给大会主题发言人和主持人。

Language Committee

Language Policy

IASSW – Attractive to whom ?

IASSW is a member organisation which is open to all social work educational programmes from all over the world. Therefore its aim is to practise an inclusive language policy, and refrain from becoming an elite organisation dominated by member institutions from the Western world. The language policy and practice is an important factor for deciding whether this is an attractive organisation for a global target group.

Even if the majority of the members of IASSW today are able to some degree to communicate in English, the aim is to continue to include more members from other language groups and from non-English speaking countries.

It is of high importance that IASSW documents that will affect the members are accessible to them linguistically; not only as a ‘fait-a-complit’, but that all members also have a fair chance to make their influence during the development process.

IASSW realises that there is a difference in people’s competence to read, listen to and understand English to speak and present papers and take part in discussions at Board meetings and congresses. To make sure a real exchange is taking place and that people from various cultures and language groups have fair opportunities, we need to organise our congresses and meetings in ways so that not the same people are always in an inferior position. Thus, sometimes minority languages might even become dominant ones. People from the dominating languages may have to realise that international communication is a challenge for all of us.

What is IASSW language policy ?

IASSW recognises that there is and should be no difference in value and importance among any languages and all languages on this earth should be treated equally, regardless of the number of their users, not to mention to Articles 2 of Universal Declaration of Human Rights and International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights.  Considering (1) the real nature of social work and IASSW whose mission is to devote itself to the promotion of social work education, (2) the IASSW historical development, (3) our membership distribution, and (4) the practicality for the organizational operation, IASSW adopted the following language policy for the time being in the board meeting, Washington, D.C., 13. July 2005 (Revised in the board meeting, Toronto, 11. July, 2007).

IASSW languages

IASSW have four official languages: English, French, Spanish and Japanese. These are the languages the majority number of IASSW member schools belongs to. However, English is the dominant one due to both lack of financial and human resources.

Publications

The aim is to translate all important documents into the four official languages.  The following three documents: Ethics in Social Work: Statements of Principles, Global Definition of Social Work and Global Standards for Social Work Education and Trainingare now published by Sage as a comprehensive book in English, Spanish and French. It is a joint IASSW and IFSW production. All IASSW members receive a copy of the publication.

The three documents will be translated into Japanese and published separately. This is a joint project with the Japanese Association of Schools of Social Work. It will be distributed to all Japanese members and everybody else who express an interest.

Website

The web should contain in four languages:

  1. the three documents mentioned above
  2. the IASSW history and profile
  3. promotion material
  4. Headings of promotion material translated into as many languages as possible with links to the four languages for further information
  5. the officers in cooperation with the language committee should continuously assess what material should be translated into the four languages

Translations of the three documents are welcomed in as many languages as possible on the website. The translations have to be of high quality, whether professionally or voluntary done. To assure the quality

  1. a professional social work educator has to proof – read and secure the update of the translation
  2. if costs are implied in the quality assurance, an application could be submitted to the Board
  3. the name of the translator and proof-reader should appear on the document

Congresses

Regional languages where the congresses are to be held should guide the decisions of the number of official languages into which there should be translation.

Plenary sessions should be translated into at least four languages including the official languages adopted in the preceding paragraph. They will to some degree depend on in which region the congress is taking place, and has to be decided in accordance with the expected number of participants taking using a specific language. If the number of registration does not reach the expected number, it may be possible to cancel one of the four language mentioned above.

If at a later stage in planning the conference it becomes clear that participants using a fifth language reach a certain number, this should be added as a fifth congress language.

At the congresses at least some paper sessions should be bi-lingual with translations into some of the other congress languages adopted in the second paragraph above.

Brochures for the congresses should be produced in the four official languages with inexpensive versions made available in other languages and on the website.

An opportunity to organise workshops/paper presentations/interests groups/posters in various languages should be offered and announced.

10-15 % discount on registration for participants who offer to translate for colleagues, this will also account for students.

Meeting places or resource groups should be made accessible where people may support each other with translation.

IASSW Standing Committee

The IASSW Board has a standing committee on language. The committees’ task is to highlight the importance of inclusiveness by language and remind and encourage the IASSW of its policy at all levels of the association.

The committee takes part in planning of the congress and discusses with the organisers

  1. translation into what and how many languages, official and regional ones
  2. what and how many workshops etc. should be organised in various languages
  3. the availability of submitting abstracts in the mother tongues of the presenter as well as in an official language
  4. make sure that Guidelines for speakers, that are adopted by the IASSW Board, are sent to congress keynote speakers and presenters.